Each year Friends of Wilson Lake provides a scholarship awarded to a deserving Mt. Blue High School student bound for college.

The David Prince Memorial Scholarship has been established to honor members and friends of our organization "Friends of Wilson Lake".  It is named after David Prince, a charter member of Friends of Wilson Lake, whose special concern for the ecology of Wilson Lake serves as a lasting example for all to follow.

David Prince was a 30 year resident of Wilton who lived on Wilson Lake and practiced family dentistry.  He was an experienced Master Maine Guide.  His personal hero was Henry David Thoreau, one of the first to speak out for the preservation of Maine's wilderness.  David was at home in Maine's woods and waters and loved to pass on his joy of the outdoors to young people.

The scholarship is awarded to a graduating Mt. Blue High School student who intends to pursue higher education.  Preference will be given to students who are Wilton residents, have attended Wilton schools, or have a connection to Wilson Lake.  This scholarship is open to students from other communities who meet the criteria.

The award is based on scholarship, community service, extra-curricular activity and work history.  Special consideration will be granted to one with a demonstrated interest in environmental sciences, biology or education.

Selection is made at the sole discretion of the FOWL scholarship committee.

Click on it to read, and then use the share options at the top of the page that opens up. There's an option to download the PDF within it's share options.

Application Form

Scholarship Winners

2004       S. Scott Harris     

2005       P. Chet Farnum      

2006       Justin Davis

2007       Meredith Fast                  

2008       Lauren Kerr                       

2009       Zoe Hardy

2010       Sarah Deveau                  

2011       Paul Boucher                     

2012       Miranda J. Voter

2013       Sully Jackson    

2014        Silas Rogers

2015        Anthony Franchetti   

2016        Anna Glass

2017        Jessie Hutchinson and Nolan Rogers

2018        Alden Thompson Vought

2019 Chelsea Seabold